The Glamorous Life of Motherhood

Standard

“Motherhood is glamorous”, said no mother ever! With three kids, a dog, a cat and a man-child for a husband, my house is less than perfectly clean most days. Ok, let’s get real, we’ve got kites strung out in one corner, leftover valentine’s day celebrations scattered on the dining room table, a pile of lite sabers, toy guns, hulk punching gloves, mustache duct tape and a 3′ stuffed tweety bird stacked in another corner. And since these piles of treasures made it to the corners of the room rather than the middle of the room…. That’s pretty darn clean.

This morning, with a yawn and one eye still half asleep, I scratched my messy hair and sought the refuge of a warm shower. I was greeted by an army of rubber ducks.

20140301-000114.jpg
After I did a double take and a silent head shake, I left the audience of ducks undisturbed. I had to tell myself that they couldn’t actually see me! Later, I would visit my “royal throne room” and would ponder what my kids were thinking, saying and doing as they aligned those mighty ducks. I love my children. And I love how they see the world. They create joy even around rubber ducks. I eventually started talking to the ducks. I think I might name them.

My house ain’t clean most days. But it is full of life every day and for that I am thankful. And that is the glamorous life of motherhood!

I encourage all the moms that are working hard to clean up here and there, to slow down and see the world through your child’s eyes. See the joy in the little things. Share the joy by leaving a post here…. What do you see?

Mark 10:14-15–“Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. Truly I tell you, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.”

Leave a Reply

