Jesus and Back-up Bologna

Standard

What does bologna have to do with Jesus and Easter?

I am not a practicing Catholic. However, as a family, we decided to give something up in the spirit of fasting and prayer in anticipation of Easter and celebrating Christ’s resurrection. So tonight, we explained Fat Tuesday to our kids and enjoyed a not so pretty, but yummy homemade strawberry cake with cream cheese icing. Woot! Woot! We are Mardi Gras wild that way.

While indulging in this sweet treat, we went around the table announcing what we would sacrifice in the days ahead. My boys dug deep sacrificing candy and sodas. Then my 10-yr old daughter proudly announces, “I am giving up all meat… except for bologna.” My husband and I traded our raised eyebrow looks.

Now I am not sure where that bologna comment came from, because we don’t have bologna in the house. And I don’t know the last time she has eaten bologna. But I was more surprised about her entertaining the sacrifice of meat. You have to understand, we are a meat and potatoes family! Some health experts would probably shake their head at our weekly meal plans, but a meal is not a meal in our house unless it has a heaping helping of protein. And that protein is usually meat.

So I asked her, “Are you sure you want to give up meat lovers pizza, cheeseburgers, grilled chicken, steak, bacon and all of your favorite meats?” I explained that I did not want to discourage what is in her heart to sacrifice, but I wanted it to be reasonable. We also discussed the number of days between now and Easter. She respectfully took in all of my “wise” counsel. Then she confidently replied, “Jesus died for me. He gave up his life for me. I am pretty sure I can give up meat for him.”

She also reminded me that she has bologna for back-up. I love it when my children are bold for Jesus. They often teach me how to live in bold faith. I am one proud mommy tonight.

Matthew 19:14 ESV
But Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me and do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of heaven.”

20140304-214621.jpg

2 thoughts on “Jesus and Back-up Bologna

  1. I love this! How precious! Goes to show that children display a much more bold and CLEAR view of what is righteous than many adults. If only all of us could sacrifice for such obvious reasons. 🙂 Love it!

Leave a Reply

