An Angel at Starbucks

Standard

Dear sweet lady who paid for my Starbucks just now, you are my angel.

It has been a yuck out-of-nowhere pity-party morning. I had just left my cat at the vet for a pretty severe injury and as I was driving, I became overwhelmed with thoughts about his pain, the stomach bug that will not leave my family alone, my 10-yr old son’s hernia repair surgery tomorrow, My husband’s knee surgery on Wednesday, my poor dog Pablo’s recently torn ear…. I am talking full blown, all out pity-party. I’m usually an upbeat person that likes to encourage everyone to be happy and high spirited. Feeling down was even starting to make me feel down. I never feel down. Why am I feeling overwhelmed? It was all starting to get to me.

So where does everyone go for comfort? Starbucks…. duh. I decided I would waller (that’s sourthern speak for wallow) in my favorite iced green tea. When I pulled up to the window, the barista says, “The woman in front of you paid for your tea and she said to tell you ‘Be blessed and have a great day.'”

Well that just brought tears to my eyes. I am blessed. I’m sitting in a nice car in line for Starbucks. We’ve got a great roof over our heads, plenty of food to eat, lots of love and all of these injuries will be repaired. “This too shall pass.” Why am I wallerin? Why am I down? Snap out of it!

So thank you, angel lady in the Starbucks line. You completely turned my day around. I only wish I could tell you how much your small gesture helped me today.

So as soon as I finish posting this message, I’m going to go to the ultimate comforter, the ultimate healer, the ultimate hope…. I am going to sit down with God. I am going to stop these seeds of worry and do some much needed devotional time, reading my bible and praying. I feel better already and this is the best tea I have ever tasted.

I hope the person behind me enjoyed their free Starbucks as well, because I had to pay it forward. “Be blessed and have a great day.”

20140410-144456.jpg

Leave a Reply

