Little Green ‘Mater

Standard

IMG_2358.JPG
I’ve never had a green thumb. A few years ago I started growing potted plants in my courtyard. This was a big deal for me because I am one of those people that can somehow manage to kill an ivy. I am proud to say, I actually still have some of those plants alive today. And I love them like babies. I talk to them; yes, the crazy lady that loves to wear hats and talks to her wilting plants. They have lived despite my unknowing.

I have also attempted to grow various vegetables over the years. Those were all big fat failures for different reasons.

Then last year I was so excited to see 3 small berries on one of my strawberry plants! The next morning I eagerly went to check on their progress only to discover that some critter had chomped bites out of each berry, only leaving enough flesh to taunt me. Boo.

So this year I set out to try again. I ordered heirloom seeds online and planted tomatoes. The seeds eventually sprouted and some grew taller than others and I was excited. And then they seemed to just stop. Everyday they appeared stunted and struggling. And now it’s October and I am discouraged thinking it will freeze before too long. Boo. I will try again next year.

I stopped going out everyday to study their progress. With all the rain, I haven’t needed to water them as much. I had mostly given up on keeping them resuscitated. It seemed almost inhumane to delay their certain fruitless demise.

And then my hubby called to me this weekend and said, “Have you seen your plants lately? You’ve got a little ‘mater growing on one.” (Yes, he calls them ‘maters.) I walked out hesitantly with half doubt to see if he was pulling my leg. Low and behold there was indeed a tiny little green tomato. And today we spotted a second one.

I do not know whether these tomatoes will grow or if some critter will have it for a tasty feast. But it has brought me happiness and one step closer to possibly one day growing something my family and I can eat!

But here is why my little green tomato is really so special… I had become impatient; frustrated with no movement and no growth. I had no faith in me or in nature and wrote it off based on my past experiences. And all the while God was working. And when I had just about given up, there was my little green tomato. And then today there are two.

How often do we do the same thing with circumstances in our lives? All too often we become impatient and give up before God has a chance to deliver his prize. My little green ‘maters taught me quite a lesson.

Let us all keep our faith, even when God is taking His time to work in us, or we may miss His prize.

Nicie Lee is a Christian Life Coach that can help with matters of the heart, relationships, daily life or work issues.
http://www.NicieLee.com

2 thoughts on “Little Green ‘Mater

  1. I love your message behind the “mater”..lol Patience is not one of my strongest traits. But just like the seed you planted took time to grow so does the seed of patience. Everyone of us have a “mater” within us, we just have to trust God. Thanks!

    • Thank you, Vernon. Finding faith in my little ‘mater. Who knew?! I pray I can figure out how to nurture it to maturity. And if not, like life, try try again. Have a blessed week.

Leave a Reply

